Quest update

So today, as well as for the past few days, I have been feeling fantastic and I’m hitting on all cylinders. So far I really haven’t made too many big changes save for the small choices I make throughout the day. I got my Lamictal prescription refilled and am taking it consistently again. I realize that I cannot just stop all meds and will a medical condition away. I am never going to take the Fluoxetine again because of the heartburn, but I visit my psychiatrist next week so maybe we can come up with something else.

I am mindful of what I am putting into my body and I make it a point to stay active at home by playing with my toddler and doing things around the house like I get paid by the chore. At school I barely have time to sit down so there’s not much room for change on that front.

Ironically however, this all kicked off Saturday night with me breaking my 18-hour-old commitment to not drinking alcohol, using chew or staying up late. That’s willpower if I’ve ever seen it. I didn’t get crazy by any means. In fact, I was driving my two buddies around so I was very cognizant of how much beer I was nursing along. I also used chew and was up till 330 watching some hilarious Louis C.K. and Jim Jeffries stand-up specials my buddy had on his dvr.

This got me thinking that diet, exercise and all that other stuff isn’t everything. Social relationships and having some fun can do absolute wonders for your mental state. The quest didn’t last long once it went up against reality, but I plan to keep making a concerted effort to accomplish what I set out to. Tomorrow is the first day of Thanksgiving break and I’m hitting up my buddy’s CrossFit affiliate for some punishment. If you haven’t heard of it, Crossfit is pretty much the holy grail of exercise. It will kick your ass and get you fit in a hurry, and I’ve found it’s so much more of a team sport and way of life than your ordinary boring workout routine. With that said it is WAY past my bedtime.

~ by vann1912 on 22 November, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
