Thanksgiving crash

CrossFit, diet and meds can only get you so far when you are bipolar. At the end of the day you still have it, no matter what you tell yourself. I noticed the change Wednesday night when I started tripping over my thoughts. The best analogy would be when you play Tetris and the blocks start dropping WAY too fast for you to deal with but you still try to stack them until the screen fills up and its game over. Its very frustrating because you go from performing at a high level mentally and physically back down to normal faster than you would like. Thursday was probablly the worst day to have reached the apex of being so moody and agitated. My extended family is pretty simple, and by simple I mean annoying white trash without any kind of filter. I would rather drink bleach than spend time with them. After dinner a few of us started playing Rummikub, but everyone has voice immodulation and I felt like I was in the middle of a British Parliament debate and I couldn’t concentrate on or enjoy the game. So I went downstairs to watch some football and take a nap but my kindergarten-age cousin wouldn’t stop badgering me to go outside and play football even though I was sore as shit from working out on top of being tired. I told my wife, who shares my sentiments about my family, that we were bugging out because “our dogs needed to be let outside” wink wink and I cruised out to the car without saying a word to anyone. Just like that the bottom dropped out.

~ by vann1912 on 27 November, 2011.

One Response to “Thanksgiving crash”

  1. Families really can be rough if there’s no space that is quiet. I’m glad to hear that you were able to get out before it got too intense. And what you said really hit home to me, all the things that I do can only take me so far, at the end of the day I’m still bipolar and I just have to accept that.

Leave a Reply

 
